Ohio (State)

State of Ohio
Coordinates 40°30’NB, 82°30’WL
Surface 116.096 km²
(8,7% water)
Residents 11.544.951
(109 inhabitants/km²)
Capital city Columbus
Governor Mike DeWine (R)
Time zone Eastern Standard Time (UTC−5)
Joined 1 mart 1803
Nickname Buckeye State
Website ohio.gov

Ohio (OH) is one of the states of the United States in the Midwestern United States with its capital Columbus. It is the 34th state in the United States by area , seventh by population (almost 11.5 million) and ninth by population density.

Ohio is known as the Buckeye State (referring to the ‘ slippery pavia ‘ or Ohio Buckeye Tree), which is why the people of Ohio are also referred to as Buckeyes. Other nicknames are The heart of it all, Birthplace aviation (because the Wright Brothers started in this state) and The mother of modern presidents.

According to JIBIN123.COM, Ohio is experiencing a negative net migration rate and rising unemployment.


The English name ‘Ohio’ comes from the Iroquois word ohi -yo’, which means ‘great stream’. What now forms the state of Ohio was originally to the east of the Northwest Territory, which formed the area between Pennsylvania to the east, the Ohio River to the south, the Mississippi to the west, and the Great Lakes to the north. Ohio joined the American Union as the 17th state (and the first of the Northwestern Ordinance) on March 1, 1803. In 1835, Ohio and Michigana conflict takes place over the ownership of a piece of land known as the Toledo Strip. The first known outbreak of swine fever in the world occurred around 1830 in Ohio.

Ohio belonged to the Union during the American Civil War.

In 1832, the Ohio and Erie Canal was opened, connecting the Ohio River and Lake Erie. This combined with the raw materials extracted in the state led to strong industrialization in the state, especially in Cleveland and Akron. Over time, this would lead to severe environmental pollution of the rivers and Lake Erie. In 1969, oil spills on the Cuyahoga caught fire. This had happened before and even bigger but this time it was televised and this fire was one of the reasons the Clean Water Act was passed in 1972.


The state of Ohio covers 116,090 km², of which 106,154 km² is land.

Ohio borders Michigan to the north and Canada across Lake Erie. It borders Indiana to the west, Pennsylvania to the east, and the Ohio River largely forms the border with the states of West Virginia and Kentucky to the south. Ohio belongs to the Eastern time zone.

The northern half of the state is quite flat, the south is more hilly. The highest point is the top of Campbell Hill (472 m). Ohio has more than 2,500 lakes.

Demography and Economics

Ohio had 11,353,140 inhabitants (98 per km²), about a quarter of whom are of German descent. The gross product of the state was $362 billion in 1999.

The largest city in Ohio is capital Columbus. Other major cities include Cincinnati, Toledo, Akron, Cleveland and Dayton. If one uses the agglomeration of cities, Cleveland comes by far in first place.

Administrative division

According to COUNTRYAAH, Ohio is divided into 88 counties.

County Inhabitants
1 July, 2007
County Seat Inhabitants
1 July, 2007
Adams 28.160 West Union 3081
Allen 105.233 Lima 37.936
Ashland 54.902 Ashland 21.829
Ashtabulla 101.141 Jefferson 3437
Athens 63.275 Athens 21.909
Auglaize 46.429 Wapakoneta 9432
Belmont 67.908 St. Clairsville 5063
Brown 43.956 Georgetown 3506
Butler 357.888 Hamilton 62.285
Carroll 28.516 Carrollton 3208
Champaign 39.522 Urbana 11.408
Clark 140.477 Springfield 62.417
Clermont 193.490 Batavia 1690
Clinton 43.071 Wilmington 12.499
Columbiana 108.698 Lisbon 3011
Coshocton 36.341 Coshocton 11.457
Crawford 44.227 Bucyrus 12.328
Cuyahoga 1.295.958 Cleveland 438.042
Darke 52.205 Greenville 12.845
Defiance 38.543 Defiance 15.998
Delaware 160.865 Delaware 32.986
Erie 77.323 Sandusky 25.861
Fairfield 141.318 Lancaster 36.950
Fayette 28.308 Washington Court House
Franklin 1.118.107 Columbus 747.755
Fulton 42.562 Wauseon 7278
Gallia 30.841 Gallipolis 4174
Geauga 95.029 Chardon 5236
Greene 154.656 Xenia 23.656
Guernsey 40.409 Cambridge 11.280
Hamilton 842.369 Cincinnati 332.458
Hancock 74.204 Findlay 37.492
Hardin 31.650 Kenton 8050
Harrison 15.506 Cadiz 3308
Henry 28.931 Napoleon 8888
Highland 42.653 Hillsboro 6671
Hocking 28.959 Logan 7417
Holmes 41.369 Millersburg 3588
Huron 59.801 Norwalk 16.596
Jackson 33.314 Jackson 6168
Jefferson 68.730 Steubenville 18.864
Knox 58.961 Mount Vernon 15.950
Lake 233.392 Painesville 18.109
Lawrence 62.609 Ironton 11.320
Licking 156.985 Newark 47.176
Logan 46.279 Bellefontaine 12.737
Lorain 302.260 Elyria 55.059
Lucas 441.910 Toledo 295.029
Madison 41.499 London 9545
Mahoning 240.420 Youngstown 73.818
Marion 65.248 Marion 35.686
Medina 169.832 Medina 26.206
Meigs 22.895 Pomeroy 1968
Mercer 40.888 Celina 10.255
Miami 101.038 Troy 22.011
Monroe 14.258 Woodsfield 2429
Montgomery 538.104 Dayton 155.461
Morgan 14.613 McConnelsville 1706
Morrow 34.520 Mount Gilead 3531
Muskingum 85.333 Zanesville 25.116
Noble 14.096 Caldwell 1990
Ottawa 41.084 Port Clinton 6198
Paulding 19.182 Paulding 3367
Perry 34.839 New Lexington 4538
Pickaway 53.809 Circleville 13.648
Pike 27.918 Waverly City 4397
Portage 155.869 Ravenna 11.422
Preble 41.739 Eaton 8042
Putnam 34.635 Ottawa 4428
Richland 125.679 Mansfield 49.675
Ross 75.398 Chillicothe 22.187
Sandusky 60.997 Fremont 16.779
Scioto 75.958 Portsmouth 20.133
Seneca 56.705 Tiffin 17.363
Shelby 48.834 Sidney 20.019
Stark 378.664 Canton 78.319
Summit 543.487 Akron 207.934
Trumbull 213.475 Warren 44.270
Tuscarawas 91.398 New Philadelphia 17.339
Union 47.234 Marysville 17.622
Van Wert 28.889 Van Wert 10.269
Vinton 13.372 McArthur 2034
Warren 204.390 Lebanon 20.416
Washington 61.576 Marietta 14.153
Wayne 113.554 Wooster 26.010
Williams 38.378 Bryan 8299
Wood 125.399 Bowling Green 29.884
Wyandot 22.471 Upper Sandusky 6418

Governance and politics

The Ohio government consists of an executive branch headed by the Ohio governor, a legislative branch with the Ohio General Assembly as its central body, and a judiciary under the control of the Ohio Supreme Court. Today Ohio holds 18 seats in the United States House of Representatives.

The current Governor of Ohio is Mike DeWine of the Republican Party. He was elected in the 2018 gubernatorial election and took office on January 14, 2019.

Ohio is one of the swing states during the presidential election. The state is considered a good predictor of the US presidential election because its population is a good cross-section of the US population. Since the elections of 1896, only three occasions have the winner in Ohio failed to win in the United States. These exceptions were Roosevelt in 1944, Kennedy in 1960, and Joe Biden in 2020.

The state is also called The mother of modern presidents because seven presidents were born in Ohio: Benjamin Harrison (23), Ulysses S. Grant (18), Rutherford Hayes (19), James Garfield (20), William McKinley (25), William Howard Taft (27), and Warren Harding (29).


Since 1934, Akron has hosted the Soap Box Derby, the World Soap Box Racing Championship, every year. Ohio has the most Amish after Pennsylvania, in 2020 their number was 78,280.

Flag of Ohio