North Dakota (State)

State of North Dakota
Coordinates 47°30’NB, 100°30’WL
Surface 183.272 km²
(2,4% water)
Residents 683.932
(3,83 inhabitants/km²)
Capital city Bismarck
Governor Doug Burgum (R)
Time zone −6 / −7
Joined 2 november 1889
Nickname Peace Garden State

North Dakota (Dutch: North Dakota) is one of the states of the United States. The standard abbreviation for the “Peace Garden State”, as it is nicknamed, is ND. The capital is Bismarck.

State of North Dakota

Homesteaders in Milton in 1898: A son of Norwegian immigrants built this house in 1896 from peat sods.

The government of the new state wanted to promote the state to attract new immigrants. To that end, they created the so-called “North Dakota Myth.” This message consisted of three parts: the mythical image of a “garden,” a philosophy of work, and “winning” (the realization of the American Dream of home ownership through hard work). and the image of a rich country in the making, built by good and honest people, large numbers of new immigrants came to North Dakota from 1910.

Twentieth century

In western North Dakota, thanks to high oil prices, there was a strong growth in oil exploration in the late 1970s and early 1980s. This growth ended in the 1980s when oil prices fell again. From 2000, employment grew strongly again, mainly in western North Dakota, again due to oil exploitation (in the Bakken oil field).


According to JIBIN123.COM, the state of North Dakota belongs to the Great Plains and covers 183,272 km², of which 178,839 km² is land. The state belongs to the Central time zone, apart from the Southwest, which is in the Mountain time zone.

North Dakota is bordered by Canada to the north, Montana to the west, Minnesota to the east, and South Dakota to the south.

The main river is the Missouri. There are two large reservoirs on the Missouri: Lake Sakakawea and Lake Oahe. The highest point in flat North Dakota is the peak of White Butte (1069 m).

Copper climate zones in North Dakota

Most of North Dakota has a temperate continental climate (Dfb) with precipitation throughout the year. Despite the cold winters, this climate is relatively suitable for agriculture. After all, the summers are almost subtropical. The cold winters, on the other hand, mean that there is little hardy natural vegetation. However, the precipitation varies greatly from the east (moderate precipitation) to the west (semirid). The natural vegetation in North Dakota is prairie, a type of grassland.

Demography and Economics

North Dakota had a population of 672,591 (3.67 per km²). The largest city is Fargo, which is near the Minnesota border and forms the Fargo-Moorhead metropolitan area with Moorhead, Minnesota. In 2013, the population was estimated at 723,393.

5% of the residents are of Native American descent. There are extensive reserves in the state. 47.2% are of German descent, followed by Norwegians who make up about 30% of the population.

The state’s gross product was $19.0 billion in 2001, the lowest of any state. Agriculture and related activities were the most important, now it is oil extraction, which has made this state boom for years, both in economic terms, in personal wealth and in percentage population growth.

Languages ​​[ edit | edit source text ]

In 2010, 94.86% (584,496) of North Dakotans over the age of 5 spoke English as their native language. 5.14% (31,684) spoke a language other than English. 1.39% (8,593) spoke German, 1.37% (8,432) spoke Spanish, and 0.30% (1,847) spoke Norwegian. Other languages ​​spoken include Serbo-Croatian (0.19%), Chinese (0.15%), Japanese (0.15%), French (0.13%) and Amerindian languages.

In 2010, 2.5% of people spoke German in addition to their native English.

Administrative division

According to COUNTRYAAH, North Dakota is divided into 53 counties.

County Inhabitants
1 July, 2007
County Seat Inhabitants
1 July, 2007
Adams 2279 Hettinger 1156
Barnes 10.783 Valley City 6300
Benson 6971 Minnewaukan 296
Billings 798 Medora 92
Bottineau 6409 Bottineau 2052
Bowman 2944 Bowman 1466
Burke 1862 Bowbells 330
Burleigh 77.316 Bismarck 59.503
Cass 137.582 Fargo 92.660
Cavalier 3911 Langdon 1691
Dickey 5356 Ellendale 1493
Divide 2004 Crosby 953
Dunn 3308 Manning
Eddy 2430 New Rockford 1274
Emmons 3470 Linton 1044
Foster 3490 Carrington 2098
Golden Valley 1670 Beach 958
Grand Forks 66.983 Grand Forks 51.740
Grant 2467 Carson 263
Griggs 2397 Cooperstown 909
Hettinger 2427 Mott 692
Kidder 2349 Steele 660
LaMoure 4110 LaMoure 831
Logan 1956 Napoleon 713
McHenry 5224 Towner 490
McIntosh 2752 Ashley 722
McKenzie 5617 Watford City 1373
McLean 8349 Washburn 1228
Mercer 7972 Stanton 310
Morton 25.926 Mandan 17.736
Mountrail 6481 Stanley 1215
Nelson 3217 Lakota 712
Oliver 1725 Center 564
Pembina 7531 Cavalier 1354
Pierce 4103 Rugby 2578
Ramsey 11.189 Devils Lake 6675
Ransom 5682 Lisbon 2194
Renville 2314 Mohall 723
Richland 16.498 Wahpeton 7703
Rolette 13.665 Rolla 1423
Sargent 4110 Forman 482
Sheridan 1320 McClusky 314
Sioux 4223 Fort Yates 287
Slope 659 Amidon 23
Stark 22.458 Dickinson 15.916
Steele 1840 Finley 413
Stutsman 20.480 Jamestown 14.680
Towner 2292 Cando 1060
Traill 8069 Hillsboro 1480
Walsh 11.011 Grafton 4045
Ward 55.927 Minot 35.281
Wells 4269 Fessenden 511
Williams 19.540 Williston 12.393


The executive branch of the state is headed by a governor, who is directly elected by the voters in the state. In 2016, Doug Burgum of the Republican Party was elected governor of the state of North Dakota.

The legislature is made up of the North Dakota House of Representatives (North Dakota House of Representatives) with 94 members and the North Dakota Senate (North Dakota Senate) with 47 members.

Flag of North Dakota