Montana (State)

State of Montana
Coordinates 47°NB, 110°WL
Surface 381.156 km²
(1,0% water)
Residents 1.032.949 (2015)
(2,65 inhabitants/km²)
Capital city Helena
Governor Greg Gianforte (R)
Time zone Mountain Standard Time (UTC−7)
Joined 8 november 1889
Nickname Treasure State, Big Sky Country

Montana is one of the states of the United States. The capital is Helena and the standard abbreviation is “MT”. The name Montana comes from the Spanish word montaña, which means “mountain” or more commonly “the mountains”. The official nickname is “Treasure State” but often the state is also called “Big sky country”.


The area now called Montana was originally settled by Native American tribes. After that, the region was in French hands for a long time. Most of the state was acquired by the United States through President Thomas Jefferson ‘s Louisiana Purchase. The rest followed in 1846 when a treaty to this effect was made with the English (see Oregon Territory). In 1862 gold was found in the mountains to the west, which led to a gold rush in the vicinity of the town of Bannack. At the same time, large ranches were set up on the grasslands to the east. Also, the Northern Pacific Railroadconstructed, right through the area of ​​the Lakota. The forced construction under military protection, the railway had already been christened “Centennial Line” and had to be completed by the centenary of the US, left little room for diplomacy.

The Indians fiercely resisted taking their land. Known is the battle of the Little Bighorn on June 25, 1876, in which Lieutenant Colonel George Armstrong Custer was killed. On November 8, 1889, Montana formally became the 41st state of the United States.


According to JIBIN123.COM, the state of Montana covers 381,156 km², of which 377,295 km² is land. This makes it the 4th largest state in the United States of America, after Alaska, Texas and California. Sixty percent of the state is occupied by the Great Plains, making the east relatively flat. The west is dominated by the Rocky Mountains. The highest point is the top of Granite Peak (3901 m). The main river is the Missouri, which has its source in this state. Major lakes in Montana include Fort Peck Lake and Flathead Lake.

Montana is very rich in natural beauty. Examples include Glacier National Park and the Pompey’s Pillar discovered by William Clark on July 25, 1806.

Montana is bordered by Canada to the north, Idaho to the west, North and South Dakota to the east, and Wyoming to the south. The state belongs to the Mountain time zone.

Demography and Economics

Montana had 902,195 inhabitants (2.4 per km²), at the end of 2011 the state reached the cape of 1 million inhabitants. The largest city is Billings; some other larger cities are Bozeman, Missoula, Butte and Great Falls. There are extensive Indian reservations in the state.

The state’s gross product was $23 billion in 2001.

Administrative division

According to COUNTRYAAH, Montana is divided into 56 counties.

County Inhabitants
1 July, 2007
County Seat Inhabitants
1 July, 2007
Beaverhead 8804 Dillon 4106
Big Horn 12.798 Hardin 3468
Blaine 6550 Chinook 1285
Broadwater 4590 Townsend 1981
Carbon 9721 Red Lodge 2449
Carter 1268 Ekalaka 380
Cascade 81.775 Great Falls 58.827
Chouteau 5254 Fort Benton 1459
Custer 11.188 Miles City 8120
Daniels 1650 Scobey 894
Dawson 8558 Glendive 4615
Deer Lodge 8852 Anaconda 8852
Fallon 2696 Baker 1616
Fergus 11.181 Lewistown 5945
Flathead 86.844 Kalispell 20.298
Gallatin 87.359 Bozeman 37.981
Garfield 1215 Jordan 344
Glacier 13.382 Cut Bank 3125
Golden Valley 1125 Ryegate 293
Granite 2852 Philipsburg 922
Hill 16.568 Havre 9618
Jefferson 11.121 Boulder 1427
Judith Basin 2048 Stanford 399
Lake 28.438 Polson 5046
Lewis and Clark 59.998 Helena 28.726
Liberty 1796 Chester 731
Lincoln 18.885 Libby 2886
Madison 7426 Virginia City 141
McCone 1724 Circle 558
Meagher 1900 White Sulphur Springs 967
Mineral 3895 Superior 880
Missoula 105.650 Missoula 67.165
Musselshell 4494 Roundup 1916
Park 16.099 Livingston 7411
Petroleum 438 Winnett 164
Phillips 3948 Malta 1820
Pondera 5943 Conrad 2540
Powder River 1699 Broadus 444
Powell 7118 Deer Lodge 3502
Prairie 1044 Terry 534
Ravalli 40.396 Hamilton 4691
Richland 9182 Sidney 4746
Roosevelt 10.148 Wolf Point 2525
Rosebud 9182 Forsyth 1880
Sanders 11.033 Thompson Falls 1423
Sheridan 3373 Plentywood 1702
Silver Bow 32.652 Butte 31.967
Stillwater 8660 Columbus 1934
Sweet Grass 3807 Big Timber 1801
Teton 6023 Choteau 1694
Toole 5144 Shelby 3417
Treasure 651 Hysham 248
Valley 6899 Glasgow 2922
Wheatland 1983 Harlowton 911
Wibaux 898 Wibaux 481
Yellowstone 139.936 Billings 101.876


Stuntman Evel Knievel was born in Butte (Montana) and every year the Knievel days are held in this city with motorcycle stunts in his memory.


The executive branch of the state is headed by a governor, who is directly elected by the voters in the state. The 2020 governorship election was won by Greg Gianforte of the Republican Party. He took office as governor of Montana in January 2021.

The legislature is made up of the Montana House of Representatives (Montana House of Representatives) with 100 members and the Montana Senate (Montana Senate) with 50 members. Republicans have a majority in both houses.

Flag of Montana