Connecticut (State)

State of Connecticut
Coordinates 41°36’NB, 72°42’WL
Surface 14.371 km²
(12,6% water)
Residents 3.580.709
(285 inhabitants/km²)
Capital city Hartford
Governor Ned Lamont (D)
Time zone Eastern Standard Time (UTC−5)
Joined 9 januari 1788
Nickname The Constitution State
ISO 3166-2 US-CT

Connecticut is a state of the United States. Its official nickname is “The Constitution State”, and its standard abbreviation is CT. The capital is Hartford.


The name Connecticut comes from the word Quinnehtukcut, which in the language of the Algonquin Indians means “along the long tidal river”; so it has nothing to do with the English verb to connect. This can still be heard in the pronunciation because the second ‘c’ is soundless.

The first European discoverer of Connecticut was the Dutch explorer Adriaen Block. After his voyage of discovery through the area in 1614, Dutch fur traders continued up the Connecticut River – called the Versche River by them. They built a fort near present -day Hartford and named this settlement ‘ House of Hope ‘.

Other Europeans arrived not much later. In 1633, the Puritans came from Massachusetts. Governor of New Netherland Peter Stuyvesant negotiated a permanent border between the Dutch and English colonies with English envoys in 1650. They agreed that the border would be about 80 kilometers west of Huis van Hoop and the Versche River. With this, the Dutch left Connecticut for good.

According to JIBIN123.COM, Connecticut was one of thirteen colonies that revolted against British rule in the 18th century (see: American Revolution). Connecticut formally became the fifth state of the United States on January 9, 1788.

Founded in 1701 and located in New Haven since 1714, the university grew into a world-renowned institution under the name Yale.

As one of the few northern states, Connecticut held onto slavery for a long time, so the rebellious slaves of the Amistad Rebellion were detained in this state. However, during the American Civil War, the state sided with the Union.

A state law prohibiting the use of contraceptives was declared unconstitutional by the U.S. Supreme Court in 1965 with regard to married couples (Griswold v. Connecticut case).

In 1975, Democrat Ella Grasso was elected governor, becoming the first American woman to hold office not to succeed her husband.


The state of Connecticut covers 14,371 km², of which 12,559 km² is land, and is one of the smallest states. The highest point in the state, 725 m, is in the far northwest. The state is in the Eastern time zone.

Connecticut is bordered by New York State to the west, Massachusetts to the north, and Rhode Island to the east. The south of the state is located on Long Island Sound and the Atlantic Ocean.

The north of the state is mountainous and hilly, the south quite flat. Connecticut is home to many lakes and rivers, the most important of which is the Connecticut, which flows from Massachusetts past Hartford south to the ocean.

Demography and Economics

Connecticut had 3,405,565 inhabitants (271 per km²). The gross product of the state in 1999 was $151 billion. Many residents work in the city of New York, which directly borders the southwest of the state. Many insurance companies are located in Connecticut itself.

The main cities are capital Hartford, Stamford, Bridgeport, New Haven and Windsor. New Haven is home to the prestigious Yale University.


The state is nicknamed “The Constitution State” because the state had its own constitution since 1638 or 1639. That was in Colonial times and this is the first constitution in the United States, possibly even in the world, and it served as the inspiration for the United States Constitution. In 1678, the Charter Oak Incident took place in Hartford. The English colonial commander Edmund Andros had the Constitution confiscated but this was prevented by hiding it in an ancient oak tree, later known as the Charter Oak.

The state was also called the nutmeg state, but the reason for this is not clear. Connecticut’s song is Yankee Doodle.

In 1900 the first hamburger was probably served in a lunchroom called Louis’ Lunch in New Haven. This dish would become wildly popular in the United States within a few years and spread to the rest of the world after World War II.

List of counties in Connecticut

According to COUNTRYAAH, the US state of Connecticut is divided into eight counties. The counties in this state, unlike counties in many other states, do not have their own government or other institutions. The counties therefore have no capital. The counties have almost exclusively a geographical function; as an indication of a specific area. Only the system of courts is more or less shaped according to the boundaries of the counties. Local government is exercised by the municipalities.

County’s van Connecticut

County Inhabitants
July 1, 2007
Fairfield County 895.015
Hartford County 876.824
Litchfield County 188.273
Middlesex County 164.150
New Haven County 845.494
New London County 267.376
Tolland County 148.139
Windham County 117.038


The executive branch of the state is headed by a governor, who is directly elected by the voters in the state. The 2018 gubernatorial election was won by Democratic Party Ned Lamont. He took office as governor of Connecticut in January 2019.

The legislature is made up of the Connecticut House of Representatives (Connecticut House of Representatives) with 151 members and the Connecticut Senate (Connecticut Senate) with 36 members.

Flag of Connecticut